Ruhr-Uni-Bochum
Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Copyright: CASA, IRA Marcks

Coloring Book

From webcomic to coloring book: As part of the ERCcOMICS project, CASA PI Thorsten Holz's project BASTION, funded by the European Research Council (ERC), was portrayed in a webcomic. In collaboration with the comic artist Ira Marcks, the comic "The Exploit" was created based on the research content. To approach IT security research even more creatively, this comic was transformed into a coloring book that invites people to draw, paint, and doodle.

The Exploit - by BASTION and the Cluster of Excellence CASA

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Copyright: CASA, Ira Marcks

About the Project

BASTION was an ERC-funded project (2015-2020) focused on cybersecurity with an emphasis on the so-called Internet of Things (IoT). The project created preparatory work for the Cluster of Excellence CASA (Cybersecurity in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries), which started in 2019.

BASTION's research was depicted in a webcomic in 2018 as part of the ERC-funded project ERCcOMICS. The aim of the comic project was to make the findings of ERC-funded projects more tangible and understandable to society through the medium of comics. Thorsten Holz' comic was realized by cartoonist Ira Marcks under the title "The Exploit".

About the Content

In "The Exploit," you're transported to 2032, where you'll meet the Cynical Cyclops Club, made up of young Lane and Charlie, who range from hacking science fairs to compromising an entire country's school exams. But that's just the beginning: Lane, along with her father, will end up in the middle of a global technology scandal that exposes the vulnerabilities of a worldwide network of integrated systems.

Insights into the Coloring Book

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Copyright: Ira Marcks

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Copyright: Ira Marcks

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Copyright: Ira Marcks

Thorsten Holz

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Thorsten is a tenured faculty member at the CISPA Helmholtz Center for Information Security. Previously, he was a professor at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at Ruhr-Universität Bochum until October 2021.His research interests include technical aspects of secure systems, with a specific focus on systems security. Currently, his work concentrates on reverse engineering, automated vulnerability detection, and studying latest attack vectors. 

In 2014 he received an ERC Starting Grant for the project BASTION, the inspiration behind this coloring book.

Ira Marcks

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Ira is a cartoonist living in upstate New York. His work is inspired by vintage cartoons, science fiction, poetry and children’s books. Ira teaches creative illustration and narrative art on the learning platform Skillshare.

If you are interested in the coloring book, please contact us at hgi-presse(at)rub.de. We will then send you a copy.

Ruhr-Uni-Bochum
Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Copyright: CASA, IRA Marcks

Coloring Book

Vom Webcomic zum Malbuch: Im Rahmen des Projekts ERCcOMICS wurde das vom Europäischen Forschungsrat (European Research Council, ERC) geförderte Projekt BASTION von CASA PI Thorsten Holz in einem Webcomic dargestellt. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Comiczeichner Ira Marcks entstand aus den Forschungsinhalten der Comic "The Exploit". Um sich der IT-Sicherheitsforschung noch kreativer zu nähern, wurde dieser Comic in ein Malbuch umgewandelt, das zum Zeichnen, Ausmalen und Kritzeln einlädt.

The Exploit - von BASTION und dem Exzellenzcluster CASA

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Copyright: CASA, Ira Marcks

Über das Projekt

BASTION war ein vom ERC finanziertes Projekt (2015-2020), das sich auf Computersicherheit mit Schwerpunkt auf dem sogenannten Internet der Dinge (IoT) konzentrierte. Im Rahmen des Projekts wurden Vorarbeiten für das Exzellenzcluster CASA (Cybersecurity in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries) geschaffen, welches 2019 startete.

Die Forschung von BASTION wurde 2018 im Rahmen des vom ERC geförderten Projekts ERCcOMICS in einem Webcomic abgebildet. Ziel des Comic-Projekts war es, die Erkenntnisse der vom ERC geförderten Projekte durch das Medium Comic für die Gesellschaft greifbarer und verständlich zu machen. Umgesetzt wurde der Comic von Thorsten Holz dabei durch den Cartoonisten Ira Marcks unter dem Titel "The Exploit".

Zum Inhalt

In "The Exploit" wird man ins Jahr 2032 versetzt, wo man den Cynical Cyclops Club kennenlernt, der sich aus den jungen Lane und Charlie zusammensetzt, die vom Hacken von Wissenschaftsmessen bis zur Kompromittierung der Schulprüfungen eines ganzen Landes reichen. Aber das ist nur der Anfang: Lane wird zusammen mit ihrem Vater inmitten eines globalen Technologieskandals landen, der die Schwachstellen eines weltweiten Netzwerks integrierter Systeme aufdeckt.

Einblicke ins Coloring Book

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Copyright: Ira Marcks

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Copyright: Ira Marcks

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Copyright: Ira Marcks

Thorsten Holz

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Thorsten ist Faculty-Mitglied am CISPA Helmholtz-Zentrum für Informationssicherheit. Zuvor war er bis Oktober 2021 Professor an der Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Seine Forschungsinteressen umfassen technische Aspekte sicherer Systeme, mit einem besonderen Fokus auf Systemsicherheit. Derzeit konzentriert sich seine Arbeit auf Reverse Engineering, die automatische Erkennung von Schwachstellen und die Untersuchung neuester Angriffsvektoren.

Im Jahr 2014 erhielt er einen ERC Starting Grant für das Projekt BASTION, das diesem Malbuch zugrunde liegt.

Ira Marcks

Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries

Ira ist ein Cartoonist, der im Hinterland von New York lebt. Seine Arbeit ist inspiriert von alten Cartoons, Science-Fiction, Poesie und Kinderbüchern. Ira unterrichtet kreative Illustration und erzählende Kunst auf der Lernplattform Skillshare.

Wenn Sie Interesse am Malbuch haben, melden Sie sich gerne bei uns unter hgi-presse(at)rub.de. Dann senden wir Ihnen ein Exemplar zu.